HOW TO BECOME A MASSAGE THERAPIST IN TEXAS By Barbara Aaron MT Program Director
“Massage Therapy” means the manipulation of soft tissue by hand or by mechanical or electrical apparatus for the purpose of body massage. Massage therapy constitutes as a healthcare service if the massage is performed for therapeutic purposes.
What Do I Need to do to become a Massage Therapist in Texas?
To become a licensed massage therapist in the state of Texas, each applicant must be at least 18 years of age when applying for their license and will have successfully completed a minimum of a 500 hour supervised course of instruction in massage studies. These studies will have been provided by a licensed massage school, a massage therapy instructor at a massage school, a state-approved educational institution, or a combination of any of these.
The 500 hour supervised program of massage therapy instruction must include:
- 200 hours of massage therapy techniques and theory and the practice of soft tissue manipulation with at least 125 hours of Swedish massage therapy techniques
- 50 hours of anatomy
- 25 hours of Physiology
- 50 hours of Kinesiology
- 40 hours of Pathology
- 20 hours of Hydrotherapy
- 45 hours of Massage therapy laws and rules, business practices and professional ethics
- 20 hours of Health and Hygiene
- 50 hour Internship
Here at the College of Healthcare Professions, you are provided with the above and so much more. Our program includes 600 hours of course material and 80 hours of clinic Internship. Our massage therapy instructors are caring, nurturing and possess all the necessary qualifications and experience to ensure our students completion of the program as well as teaching them how to be successful and enjoy a rewarding career in the field of massage therapy.